The Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA) today announced the FHFA House Price Index (HPI) will be released at 9 a.m. ET on the following dates in 2020:​

​Wednesday, January 22 ​Monthly Index
Tuesday, February 25 ​Quarterly and Monthly Index
​Wednesday, March 25 ​Monthly Index
​Wednesday, April 22 ​Monthly Index
Tuesday, May 26 ​Quarterly and Monthly Index
​Wednesday, June 24 ​Monthly Index
​Wednesday, July 22 ​Monthly Index
Tuesday, August 25 ​Quarterly and Monthly Index
​Wednesday, September 23 ​Monthly Index
​Wednesday, October 27 ​Monthly Index
Tuesday, November 24 ​Quarterly and Monthly Index
​​Wednesday, December 23 ​​Monthly Index

FHFA produces the nation’s only public, freely available housing price indexes (HPIs) that measure changes in single-family house prices based on data that cover all 50 states and over 400 American cities and extend back to the mid-1970s.  The HPIs are built on tens of millions of home sales and offer insights about house price fluctuations at the national, census division, state, metro area, county, ZIP code, and census tract levels.  The FHFA HPIs use a fully transparent methodology based upon a weighted, repeat-sales statistical technique to analyze transaction data from Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.  FHFA releases data and reports on a quarterly and monthly basis.  The flagship FHFA HPI uses seasonally adjusted, purchase-only data, unless otherwise noted.  Additional indexes are based on other data including refinances, FHA mortgages, and real property records.  All the indexes can be downloaded from the FHFA website.

As a reminder, FHFA’s next quarterly House Price Index will be released at 9 a.m. EDT, Tuesday, August 27 and will feature robust, new analysis and additional data on 20 Metropolitan Statistical Areas.

For detailed information on the FHFA HPI, see HPI Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ).  Release dates for 2020 and the remainder of 2019 are available at https://www.fhfa.gov/HPI.

###

The Federal Housing Finance Agency regulates Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac and the 11 Federal Home Loan Banks. These government-sponsored enterprises provide nearly $6.3 trillion in funding for the U.S. mortgage markets and financial institutions. Additional information is available at www.FHFA.gov, on Twitter, @FHFA,YouTubeFacebook, and LinkedIn.

Contacts:

Media: Stefanie Johnson (202) 649-3030 / Corinne Russell (202) 649-3032

SHARE THIS ARTICLE